So, with ten days left on the countdown to a new beginning in my life I have started sorting through my feelings; the truth is, I don't really know what I'm feeling. Some are extremely nervous...anxiously re-reading all the paperwork to make sure they haven't forgotten anything. Some are very excited to begin...excited to say, "I have completed my first day of law school." I, however, I am not nervous. I am excited. But, really, I'm still kind of in the "shock" phase. Law school is generally something people only do on television...or at least that's always how it seemed...until now. Now, I'm registered for law school classes. My name is on a roster somewhere as a law student.
Most of us are in contact with a few 2Ls to find out what we should expect: professors, dress code, study habits, psychiatrists (totally kidding, I think?). So, I thought that maybe I should write some type of blog to help next years students, assuming I make it that far.
We are required to do a pre-test for core grammar for legal writers (...ha, yea, I'm just as lost as you are!). Speaking of grammar, let me add that by no means is this post grammatically correct...I just don't have time for that right now. Anyway, I scored a 62% which is obviously a failing score, but I'm pretty sure most if not all of us fail that assignment. The bright side is that I did test out of five lessons by scoring 100%. Legal grammar is almost COMPLETELY different than the rules we have been taught since middle school; adapting to that is going to be brutal. But, I signed up for a challenge, and I'm prepared to take it head on.
We are also required to read To Kill a Mockingbird before Orientation (and then we will discuss it there). That just happens to be my favorite book EVER, so this task isn't challenging at all.
I still feel like I'm forgetting something though; I have my books (except for the two the bookstore must order); I have my legal dictionary, my planner, and my parking decal. I have waived the school health insurance, applied for scholarships, completed a school tour, and filed for direct deposit of my refund...what am I forgetting? No clue at the moment, but if I figure it out I'll let you know.
Might I add that orientation will last three days next week, and one day we are required to wear a suit. Lucky me, I already have one...but what about the other students that must go out and buy one? I find it ridiculous that they expect this out of you when refunds aren't distributed until the end of the month. Many of us are broke, hello?!
But, back to my feelings. Indeed, it feels unreal that I have made it this far. It seems like yesterday I was graduating from high school, and even though professional school has always been my dream doesn't mean I was ever actually sure I would make it. BUT I DID! I'm proud, I'm excited, I'm so many mixed emotions...and I deserve this. Not tooting my own horn, but I definitely deserve this.
I'm finished talking. Until next time...
No comments:
Post a Comment